Dr Andrew C. Dwyer

Steering Committee Lead

Andrew is a Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Information Security at the Information Security Group at Royal Holloway, University of London researching computation and decision, offensive cyber and machine learning, as well as geographical understandings of cybersecurity. He holds a simultaneous research affiliate position at the Centre for Technology and Global Affairs at the University of Oxford as well as being on the editorial board of Digital Geography and Society.

He has previously been an Addison Wheeler research fellow at Durham University, a research associate at the University of Bristol’s Cyber Security Group and a Visiting Fellow at the SFB-TRR ‘Dynamics of Security’ project in central Germany. He completed his PhD at the University of Oxford in 2019.

Twitter: @DrAndrewDwyer

Neil Ashdown

Steering Committee Member

Neil is a PhD researcher with the Centre for Doctoral Training in Cyber Security at Royal Holloway, University of London. His research examines the relationship between cybersecurity and intelligence. Prior to starting his PhD, Neil worked for the defence and security analysis company Janes, latterly as the deputy editor of Janes Intelligence Review. His undergraduate degree was in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics at the University of Oxford.

Twitter: @neil_security

Louise Marie Hurel

Steering Committee Member

Louise Marie Hurel is a research fellow at the Royal United Services Institute for Security and Defense Studies’ (RUSI) Cyber Programme and a PhD researcher in Data, Networks and Society at the London School of Economics’ (LSE) Department of Media and Communications. Her research focuses on security expertise, cybersecurity governance, norms, non-state actors and incident response. She is also a non-resident doctoral fellow at American University’s Internet Governance Lab and the founder of the Latin American Cybersecurity Research Network (LA/CS Net). Louise Marie holds different advisory roles as a member of the Global Forum of Cyber Expertise (GFCE) and Carnegie Endowment’s Partnership for Countering Influence Operations (PCIO)’ advisory groups.

Twitter: @LouMarieHSD

Dr Tim Stevens

Steering Committee Member

Dr Tim Stevens is Senior Lecturer in Global Security in the Department of War Studies, King’s College London, and is head of the KCL Cyber Security Research Group.

Dr Leonie Maria Tanczer

Steering Committee Member

Leonie Maria Tanczer is an Associate Professor in International Security and Emerging Technologies at University College London’s (UCL) Department of Computer Science. She is a member of the Advisory Council of the Open Rights Group (ORG), affiliated with UCL’s Academic Centre of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSR), and a former Fellow at the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) in Berlin.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com